Four Game Sweep

The Yankees beat the Twins 7-6 to complete the four game sweep. They did not need any dramatic come from behind heroics last night. There was no walk off home run or game ending hit. They got out to a 6-2 lead in the bottom of the first and never looked back.

Mark Teixeira continued his hot hitting, belting two home runs, one from each side of the plate. A-Rod added a home run as well going back-to-back in the first.

Pettitte struggled all night, but seemed to get out of jams when he needed to. He lasted 6.2 innings, giving up four runs on 12 hits. He walked one and struck out four.

Of course nothing comes easy. The pen made the game interesting.The combination of  Jose Veras, Edwar Ramirez and Phil Coke finished the game off, with Coke earning his first career save. Coke had some interesting stuff to say about his experience closing… I don’t think it’s something he feels too comfortable with. I think he is very happy to be on the same team as the great Mariano Rivera.

Since A-Rod re-joined the team the Yankees have gone 9-2. Mark Teixeira is hitting .342 (13-for-38), with five home runs and 13 RBI. That is no coincidence, and I really hope it stops the foolish chatter about the Yankees being better off without A-Rod.

A-Rod makes the team better, whether he is hitting or not. I don’t care what the guy does off the field. I don’t care that he is linked to steroids… who isn’t?? Till I know who didn’t do them for sure, I just can’t take it out on one guy. I will continue to support A-Rod, and I hope every Yankee fan does as well. I want to see A-Rod penciled into the lineup every night. I know he isn’t going to get a hit every game, but even when he isn’t hitting, he is making a difference to those hitting in the same lineup. It really is that simple. Just ask Mark Teixeira.

Anyway, here is hoping the Yankees keep it going. The Orioles are coming into town, and CC Sabathia (3-3, 3.70 ERA) will be pitching for the Yankees. At this point I don’t care who he is facing, if he pitches like he did the last two games I like the Yankees chances. However, he will be facing right hand rookie Brad Bergsen (1-1, 5.27 ERA). Rookies always seem to give the Yankees a terrible time, but for some reason, I feel different about tomorrow.

UPDATE: Here is the Phil Coke post game interview. Thanks to Data from the NYYFF for uploading it…

That’s all for now…

GO YANKEES!

~ by RuhiRants on May 19, 2009.

Leave a comment